Notifications
Clear all

Advice on how to improve my voice?

12 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@watchingthewheels)
Topic starter  

Hey, so I'm a novice as a vocalist, but have managed (through a fair amount of tears :) ) to learn to sing on key far better than I ever had before, and am now looking to improve my vocal tone. Here's a really short clip of me singing something I wrote. I welcome any encouraging or disparaging comments, and any advice on how to improve. Thanks guys!

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=971492

(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to guitarnoise!

Nothing wrong with your voice.

It sounds like you are singing quietly, probably while sitting down. You have a good tone, stay on pitch pretty much all the time, but you aren't supporting your voice. Forget you are singing into a mic, pretend you are singing to someone standing about six feet from you. Not so far that you have to yell, but far enough you have to sing at about the volume of normal speaking.

Try that, that should do wonders.

ReplyQuote
(@bfloyd6969)
Estimable Member

Cool arrangment, good melody line. You have a good song from the short clip you posted. Yes, the singing is quiet. Most important rule of thumb with singing - sing from you diaphram. In order to do this correctly, it will almost force you to sing loudly until you learn to use your diaphram quietly. Imagine using all your stomach muscles to sing. You will feel your stomach tight when you sing. You have a good voice, now project it. The less timidly you sing, the more professional you will sound, even if some notes are a bit off. I know this from self experience - I have probably the worse intonation a professional singer could have but I make up for it with attitude :) .

Why do we have to get old...

ReplyQuote
(@watchingthewheels)
Topic starter  

Thanks for the welcome and for the replies!