Clear all

Voice cracks. Is it tired?

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@amina)
Topic starter  

Hi there,

I'm a beginner - even though I've been singing for years. The only time I sing is when I'm alone in the car. I've recently decided that I am going to put more effort into my singing by doing research and following the instructions of professionals.

Here's the problem I'm having:

When I'm in the car singing, I sing with the radio (already a bad thing). On top of that, I have to sing loudly to hear myself over the highway noise and the radio.

Now, I believe that my technique is more or less proper. I sing from my diaphragm so the notes sound pretty good. But, after about 15 minutes of singing, my voice starts to crack. It cracks right in the middle of my range. It's not the kind of cracking that comes and goes either. It's very consistent and I can do it on command - as if I'm yodelling all of a sudden.

Why does this happen and how can I get rid of it? All of those pros that belt it out for an entire set seem to be able to control it. Why can't I?

Thanks!
Amina

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

well, i don't think those are optimal conditions under which to sing. i think warming up at a quieter level is probably a good idea, so you can work on controlling the notes at any volume, instead of just forcing the notes until you strain your vocal cords. you also don't want to get dehydrated.

ReplyQuote
(@amina)
Topic starter  

I guess I should mention that it happens after a proper warm up when I'm at home too. It just happens quicker in the car I think.

Here's what happens. When I first start singing, everything is great. No cracking.

It happens after a while of singing. If I keep my larynx low, there's no cracking. But if I bring it up even a little bit, there's a crack immediately. If I bring it all the way up, it sounds like I've lost my voice - but if I just talk, I sound normal.