poetry&lyric writing- differences and similarities

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@dennett340)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey guys. I'm new to lyric writing.
To the veterans I wanted to ask- what are the main differences and similiarities between poetry and lyric writing?

I am thinking of taking a poetry writing course. Has anyone tried writing poetry to be better at lyric writing?
Any success?

(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

I just posted this in the SCW, but here it is cut and pasted.

I've been writing a tremendous amount of poetry lately, more than enough to fill a book, (assuming someone would want a book of poetry that sucks). It has lead me to an interesting insight into my songwriting, that even when I start with lyrics I am writing them with a musical idea in mind. Writing poetry doesn't have that musical feel to it. Sure it has meter but it isn't a lyric. For one thing my poetry doesn't repeat themes as obviously as my lyrics. Lyrics are much more concise. I think of poetry as limited only by one's desire to be on point, interesting, good and readable, while lyrics are more like sending a text message, you've only got 160 characters to use, you better make sure every word adds value. Of course good poetry makes every word count, it just seems more so for lyrics IMHO.

I've taken to writing lyrics now with a metronome or drum track playing in the background. It really helps. Even before I did this my best lyrics, for instance One by One, were written with a specific pattern already in my head.

What's the difference? IMHO

A lyric needs to be more concise to fit the song form.
Poetry is for the eyes and lyrics are for the ears, a vast over generalization I know.
Poetry doesn't usually have a bridge or chorus.
Poetry needs to stand on it's own for power and emotion, lyrics have music, volume and tempo
Lyrics usually need to be catchy to stick with the listener

ReplyQuote
(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member