Y9 W2 Larry's Song w Mp3

26 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@john-sargent)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

This is a first draft, I don't have a melody or chord structure yet
(edit: http://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=9882906 )
Larry's Song

My name is Larry, this is my corner
Downtown Chicago, by the Congress Hotel
Last night I slept on this window ledge
Too many nights in a Cook County Cell

Excuse me sir, can you spare a quarter?
God Bless you, have a nice day.
Some men yell "get a job"
They don't know that this is my job today

(chorus)
I'm in this darkness, cold, drunk and crazy.
You are the light of the world.
I am not worthy, outcaste and unclean
Say the word and my soul shall be healed

Reading at two, I was an A student
Father Joe's main acolyte
I learned how to say the whole mass in Latin
I'm asking for spare change tonight

Jesus was out walking this evening
Going in the Congress front door
Then I saw him looking down at me
From a window on the thirteenth floor

(chorus)

Now I lay me down to sleep
Booze in all my cells
If I die before I wake
There'll be one more drunk in Hell

(chorus)

(@davidhodge)

It seems every time I log on you've got a new song! That's too cool!

There is a lot of great stuff here. The first four lines are wonderful and draw the listener right in. I might suggest "old park bench" or "heating grate" instead of window ledge as most homeless aren't likely to sleep somewhere they might fall and hurt themselves.

But what I really want to suggest is that you ditch your current chorus and instead use the second half of the first verse as your new chorus (and I've tweaked it a bit):

God Bless you, have a nice day.
Somebody yells "Hey! Get a job!"
They don't know that this is my job today