Clear all

Blistered newbie-beginner needs help

15 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@martha)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey there. I'm a newbie and an absolute guitar-beginner, and I desperately need some help. :(

I just received a guitar a couple of days ago and have been playing (<-- I use the term loosely :wink: ) like crazy ever since, going through as many lessons as I can on this site. (Love every single article!)

It was all going very well.

As a classical pianist, music theory comes easy and fretboard logic is, well, logical. Chords are just part of everyday life. I also seemed to be picking up fingering relatively easily (probably also due to the dexterity acquired as a piano-player).

However, I have suddenly hit a major roadblock. :oops:

Over the past couple of hours I've developped these hideously painful blisters :shock: on my left index through ring fingers. (Typing with my right hand, now. Not fun.) So I'm sure I've doing something wrong (very very wrong) on the guitar, but I have no idea what. :(

(I might have overdone it a bit - played 5 hours straight last night, and 5 more this morning - but I'm sure that millions of people throughout the world have played for 5, 6, 7, 8 hours and not gotten all blistered up. So that can't be the only reason.)

I was wondering if any of the experienced players on this forum could offer any tips on what could be wrong with my form and, hopefully, what I could do to prevent this from happening again. (Any help on how to reduce the present blistering would also be extremely welcome. ;) )

Thanks in advance for any help. :D

Quiquid latine dictum sit altum viditur.

(Whatever is said in Latin sounds profound.)

(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member

Don't panic!

You say you are new to guitar. If that is the case and you have been playing 5 hours solid - you WILL get blisters!!