Notifications
Clear all

Hello All (Newbie Here)

35 Posts
24 Users
0 Likes
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Scholar, on behalf of the residents, welcome!

Most of the people do start off by learning open chords, particularly C, G, Em, D etc. They are supposed to be "easy". However, they werent easy for me. It took me a good while before I was able to stretch my fingers to form a G and even longer to smoothly and quickly switch between them.

Welcome from me too Scholar. :)

Some great advice from GoodVicHunting and others above.

I was very interested to see his comments above about playing a G chord. My first thought "G! How can G be hard.." but of course it WAS for me too, and when I started out about a year ago forming G felt just like he describes. I'd just forgotten, that's all.

And that's a point worth remembering. All guitar books, etc are written by people with experience and knowledge. Usually this means they've been playing for years, and can no longer remember exactly how hard it was when they began. I've often mastered one page of a book, turned to the next and thought "WHAT! How the heck am I supposed to do THAT!" Nothing much for the guy writing - but a mountainous step for me!

Sometimes it can be a few minutes worth of practice between one page and the next, and sometimes it can be weeks or even months, or it may even be a style or technique that you end up avoiding altogether.

And you can learn in a variety of orders too. The first book I bought began with reading music and playing simple melodies, note by note. Others start with chords.

If you can keep that 2 hours up - you'll accelerate past most new players at a very rapid rate! Just don't expect it all to click in the first few weeks.

Best of luck.

ReplyQuote
(@rik-anderson)
Estimable Member

Hi Scholar, and welcome to GN.