Notifications
Clear all

Hello All (Newbie Here)

35 Posts
24 Users
0 Likes
(@selfie)

Hi people,

How on EARTH are my fingers supposed to assume this position comfortably? It seems like my ring and middle fingers just don't want to come apart enough. I just started playing -- toying, really -- as I needed something to do during the summer. But not being able to form this C chord is very discouraging. Anything I should be doing differently? My pinky wants to become involved (instead of the ring finger), but I wonder if that will mess up my chord progressions later?

Excellent forum and website, by the way. Some of my discouragement has melted away already, but still, I just can't imagine it ever feeling natural to hold a C chord (let alone easily switch to that position from a G or some other variation.) Is it possible my hands are just naturally inept or is this a common experience?

Selfie

P.S. Apologies, I just realized I might have posted this in the wrong area. Sorry about that.. didn't mean to step on Scholar's toes.

ReplyQuote
(@artlutherie)
Noble Member

Do what gunslinger says.

"Don't be afraid to ask for help."

That is what all the members of GN (with one notable exception) are here for.

Who's the Noteable exception? NoteBoat perhaps?

Chuck Norris invented Kentucky Fried Chicken's famous secret recipe, with eleven herbs and spices. But nobody ever mentions the twelfth ingredient: Fear!
ChuckNorrisFactsdotCom

ReplyQuote
(@sin-city-sid)
Prominent Member

Hi people,

How on EARTH are my fingers supposed to assume this position comfortably? It seems like my ring and middle fingers just don't want to come apart enough. I just started playing -- toying, really -- as I needed something to do during the summer. But not being able to form this C chord is very discouraging. Anything I should be doing differently? My pinky wants to become involved (instead of the ring finger), but I wonder if that will mess up my chord progressions later?