Notifications
Clear all

new to this...advice plz!!!

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@whoneedsanity)
Topic starter  

Hi. very new to the guitar here. A week ago, my brother in law gave me an accoustic to start learning to play the basics with, since i have small hands and short finger (and no i dont give up easily... :lol: ) i have been having trouble getting my left hand around the neck of the guitar...i can do it, but it is a BIG stretch. I was told by someone that if i was interested in electiric, which i am, that maybe i shold start there since someof them have smaller neck, but then someone else says to start with accoustic and work into electric. So, i was wanting to get other opinions or maybe advice on how to make it less difficult to play accoustic.
thanx
Tiffany

(@scratchmonkey)
Honorable Member

Hi Tiffany,

I'm new to this myself, ( < 1 yr ). I have an accoustic, and my buddy has an accoustic and a couple electrics. The electrics, according to him, are easier to play. I'm used to the action on my guitar, so his electrics (to me) are trickier to play, because it takes very little effort to get the same effect. I'm not sure, but I think within a certain range, neck sized vary on both accoustics and electrics. One thing you might try, (and I don't do this myself, but I've read that you should, and it makes sense) is to position the thumb of your fretting hand in the center of the back of the neck. That way, your fingers have more reach.

When I was new(er) to this, I had all kinds of questions that were similar. (how do I stop x from happening?, how come I can't get the strings to quit buzzing?, how do I stretch to make this chord, my fingers don't bend that way?.... and on and on) Another friend kept telling me the same thing over and over... It just takes practice, man. I got tired of hearing it, so I quit asking him, but he was right. Hang in there, you'll get it.

-- Scratch 8)

-- Scratch 8)