Playing with other people..

39 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
13.2 K Views
(@mr_bungalow)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 3-4 months now and I'm just starting to get to the point where I feel somewhat comfortable. I keep hearing people (and my instructor) say that its VERY important to play with other people. Both of my roommates play (one is pretty good, the other can strum some tunes but isn't all that great). I guess the question is, when you all play with other people, what do you play? I don't feel comfortable playing with the good guitar player because I think he'll either laugh at my skills or get bored right away with what we're doing. The other guy has some crazy strum patterns that I can't seem to get down on the songs that he plays.

(@danlasley)
Noble Member

Read the new article on the Home Page. "Playing with Others" is our theme for a while, and there are lots of older articles, as well as new ones in the works.

-Laz

ReplyQuote
(@mr_bungalow)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

That's pretty weird. I usually check the front of the site daily but haven't done it in a couple of days. ..

ReplyQuote
(@patrick)
Reputable Member

You could try a guitar play-along CD to get good enough before playing with real people.

ReplyQuote
(@smokindog)
Illustrious Member

I have to disagre with patrick, lots of good players will jam with new players.thats kind of the point to this web site: older players helping the younger players and the other way around also :lol: :lol: You can always find others at your level too. You always learn something from jaming with others no matter what your skill level.

My Youtube Page
http://www.youtube.com/user/smokindog
http://www.soundclick.com/smokindogandthebluezers

http://www.soundclick.com/guitarforumjams

ReplyQuote
(@danlasley)
Noble Member

You could try a guitar play-along CD to get good enough before playing with real people.