Clear all

What to practice?

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@kryogenik)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar for a few years now, but I'm not really that good. I improved alot my first year, and I've kind of plateaued since then. I know a decent number of chords, and I can play pretty much any chord progression in a song unless it's really fast or ridiculously complicated. I can play Dream On, Stairway to Heaven (sort of) and stuff like that, but not the solos to them or anything that impressive. I'm getting an Epiphone Les Paul Standard for christmas and I want to start practicing more and get better at electric guitar, but I'm not sure how to go about it. I know the major, pentatonic and blues scales, but I'm not that good at soloing. I'm alright, but not that good. I looked at the turning scales into solos lesson, but all I got out of it was that I should just use scales that include important notes in the chord progression. I probably just don't understand it.

I know its kind of a dumb question, but how did you guys get better at guitar? Every time I read about a really good guitarist (not that I'll ever get that good) like Jimi Hendrix or Eddie Van Halen, it says that they practiced all the time, but what did the practice? Are there some exercises to make your fingers faster or something? Thanks for any help.

(@tinsmith)
Prominent Member

Learn songs........that's my downfall.....Also be patient & slowly learn some minor pentatonic... you'll have a good base to start with then. Also don't learn ALL alternate tuning stuff.....Standard is a handful as it is. JMHO

ReplyQuote
(@danooo)
Trusted Member