Clear all

Strumming Patterns and my thoughts

15 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@michhill8)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

I was browsing the topics and I came across one with questions on strumming patterns in the beginners forum. It asked about particular strumming patterns for the song Jet Plane. This made me think, I have been playing for about 10 months now and I never bothered to learn strumming patterns.
You see, when I hear a song and learn the tab for it I play it, and after playing for a few months or more strumming patterns just kind of come to you. You know when to upstroke/downstroke, when it sounds right, etc. Or, if you guys think what I just said is a bunch of crap then I say this. I pick my own strumming patterns for songs, and they sound just as good compared to the originals (I'm not trying to boast).
What do you guys think?

Thanks Dudes!
Keep on Rockin'

Pat

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

I agree with you completely.
As long as you are getting the chord changes in time and you can play a nice rhythm that is all that is really needed.
You do develop a skill of just knowing how to strum to make any song recognizable and still make it your own.
I have less time playing than you but there are a number of songs that just fell into place right away. others I had to play around with.
A song that I can hear in my head but am not sure just how to strum it , I start with just down strums and then add upstrums here and there until I get the sound I want.

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I've posted a few songs on the Database.....no problem with chords, riffs fills etc....but when it comes to strumming patterns, I can hear them in my mind's ear, I just find it incredibly difficult to transcribe what I hear in my head to paper.....

I'd say practising a song will give you the feel of a strum pattern....the more you listen, the more you play along, the easier you'll get the hang of it.....

Vic