Skip to content
How often to use Le...

Notifications
Clear all

How often to use Lemon Oil on the Fretboard?

36 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
11.3 K Views
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

I would imagine the naphtha would help it dry faster.

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

Look for ingredient lists, and MSDS if you can find them, for the "Lemon Oil" sold for guitars, furniture, etc. (MSDS aren't required for consumer products.) Bet you'll find a warning about "contains petroleum distillates" on all of them. Mineral oil's a petroleum distillate. Naphtha covers a wide range of petroleum distillates from lighter fluid to Diesel fuel. Probably means mineral spirits in this case.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@vampirekiller)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Thank you for the input, people!

Helpful as always.

Psychedelic Violence ~ X ~ Crime of Visual Shock

ReplyQuote
(@sticky)
Trusted Member

How about Martin Guitar polish? Is that stuff still around? I'm a newb and have had my guitar for 4 years or so and all I've done is a wipe down with a dry cloth. The guitarist that I used to play with(in my drumming days of youth) used to use Martin Guitar polish. Any opinions?

How do you know if a drummer is knocking on your door.....

The knocking speeds up.

ReplyQuote
(@whytenoiz)

Any opinions concerning Boiled Linseed Oil?

Was recommended by a music store clerk but I havent heard any corroborating opinions.

ReplyQuote
(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

Linseed oil works wonders on cricket bats. I don't know why it wouldn't do the same on guitars. I don't particularly like the smell of linseed oil, but to each their own.