Tube volume vs. Solid state

24 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@blutic1)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

If I may clairify a few things:

I asked about tube volume vs. solid state in order to learn something.  I have no experience playing with tube amps other than trying a few for a couple seconds at a music store.  

The tube preamp I talked about is not a separate unit.  All amps (combos or heads) have a pre and power amp.  The Mode 4 simply has two different preamps with two channels each.  So you have a clean channel, a crunch (like the JCM 800s), OD1 (metal, nu-metal, etc.), and OD2 (for Detuned).  Check out the website for more info.

I meant that I played it in my basement at low volumes and it sounds great.  If fact, last night I did a taste test between it and my Marshall 40watt Valvestate, playing at the same volume.  They both sounded geat but the Mode 4 had the whumpf (the feel that grabs you by the heart).

Being too loud: I agree that bands often go too loud.  The solution - agree that everyone will listen to the soundman.  The guitarists are biased.  Fortunatly for me, the Mode 4 has a solo boost button on the footswitch so I can get my solo volume higher by simply stepping on it.   ;)

The bottom line is I wanted and amp that will do it all.  Coffee house to auditorim.  My band has its own PA that we run with two 1500 watt poweramps.  And we know how to use them properly.  

Most importantly: Chicks dig it  8)

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Blutic 1- I honestly did not mean to insult you or your amp. Hell, If I had the money, I'd probably go out and buy one myself. They do look impressive on stage, and look is important to a Rock Band. Better stay away from the ladies though, you're a married man!