Clear all

Older Beginners?

50 Posts
39 Users
0 Likes
 KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

There must have been a reason for this thread to be resurrected.
I'm not even Catholic but feel I'm at a confessional.
OK, 56 and retired. Started about 7 months ago.
Just want to impress my friends and myself that I can play a guitar.
Still workin' on it.

Now what? Seven Hail Mary's or whatever it's called . . .

You're not alone, OK?
You're invited to commiserate with us beginners on the Hear Here board (Beginner's Videos)
Laugh at us at your risk.

Ken

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

Posted : 08/05/2008 8:27 pm
(@gasbag)
Eminent Member

I am over 60. Not going to tell you how far over. I started playing just about a year ago now and am taking lessons. Having a great time. I find it relaxing and fun and it keeps my old sclerotic brain active............

I would tell you it helps get the chicks but that doesn't seem to matter anymore.....................

Posted : 09/05/2008 2:19 am
(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

Let me tell you having played in a band at the age of 18 and now being the tender young age of 46, playing guitar and singing still can get the chicks. It's just the underwear they throw at me now is much more sensible.

Posted : 09/05/2008 2:27 am
(@daren)

Hello,
Ive only just registered and this is my first post.
Im 41 years young and I will be a begginner.Ive ordered a Yamaha Fs720 small bodied accoustic guitar and should get it by the end of the week.

Im not new to playing musical instruments I play keyboards and I have achieved a ABRSM grade 8 on piano so I can read music,and have very good theory knowledge.I hope I can make the switch to guitar and make good progress.

What coarse do you think is ideal for an adult begginner that will start me off and be progressive?
Do I learn the guitar using tab or notation?

Regards
Daz

Posted : 17/05/2008 8:53 am
(@jick-jackson)
Estimable Member