Skip to content
Can someone please ...

Notifications
Clear all

Can someone please critque my voice? (some questions)

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@sgittles)
Topic starter  

Okay, so I'm only starting to learn the guitar. Not at a level to play when singing, for sure. :( I really love singing by myself, though, so I recorded a song with a karaoke tune. Now I'm having serious doubts about my voice, and I have lots of questions, so if anyone can help, that would be SO appreciated.

LINK: http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=300c43dcc4e872940de4fc1039a01674f9f720a40e6fdac85621d66e282a0ee8

My biggest questions are about my range. I'm almost 15, and a girl. All girl songs go at least a LITTLE high. It's kind of like the one thing you really need to be a singer- lots and lots of range. But my voice is really low! I get all kinds of strain when I attempt to sing even the MALE high C, or anything very close to it. I'm working with this program called Singing Success, which is supposed to be really good, but I don't think it's helping. I feel horrible! I love singing to no end, but I feel completely trapped inside my voice, unable to let loose and hit notes because my voice is so frustratingly limited for a girl. Thing is, people have told me that my voice sounds like it can go high... but it cant. So my questions:
a) is it really possible to expand range??? if so, how?
b) do you think I have any chance of a future in music (especially with my range problems)?
c)do you think there is a possibility of vocal nodes? My voice is usually somewhat hoarse, and I never feel real ease when singing... it's often an effort. Also , I'm pretty sure I used to go higher.

General HONEST critique also reallly, really wanted!!! Thanks so much everyone! :D

(@tim_madsen)
Prominent Member