Clear all

Nervous beginner singer bares her soul

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@bkangel)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Okay, seeing as so many other brave souls have posted their singing in the past...

I started having singing lessons three years ago. I had always been told I had a terrible voice and so was terrified of the thought of someone hearing me -- to the point where I couldn't even sing Happy Birthday as part of a group (I'd hip hooray though :lol: ).

Anyway, I started learning guitar, and that gave me the inspiration to face my fears. I thought it would be good to at least see if I was tone-deaf, and if not, then I could learn the basics and maybe learn to sing just enough to write some songs (which hasn't happened yet, but I'm taking baby steps).

My first singing lesson was sooooo scary. I had to sing in front of someone. But she was very gentle with me, and when I left I felt that I wasn't completely hopeless (and certainly not tone-deaf). Since then, I've progressed slowly, but each year I've taken part in the concert my teacher puts on with her students. This year was my third concert (and so the third time I had sung in public). We had four rehearsals with the band (which consisted of two runs through of your song -- there were 18 students).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rImT7Q1jRh8

It's pitchy, but considering where I've come from, I'm happy with my progress so far. The band was fantastic too (The Frocks) and really helped me feel comfortable -- oh yes, did I mention it was the first time I'd ever sung with a band as well? :roll: Although the drummer did apologise as I walked off stage that she'd gotten a bit excited in the count in and so it was a rather faster than usual version of the song :shock: No wonder I was puffed by the end! And smoke machines!! That was another new experience :shock: :lol:

It was the most fun I've had singing! (so far :twisted: )

What I lack in talent and natural ability, I will have to make up with stubborness.