Y10 W42 Death Row Cookin' MP3 ADDED

10 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
 br85
(@br85)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

http://www.soundclick.com/player/single_player.cfm?songid=11855909&q=hi&newref=1

Howdy folks, its been quite a while!

anyway I hope you're all keeping well and here's my effort at a start for this week...

The title came from something I came up with as an earlier assignment but never got a chance to start. I have some music to go along with it but no way to record it for now (hopefully next week).

Death Row Cookin' [get it while you're still warm]-Ben Rowe

I see that boy clutchin' a photograph
I bet he's thinkin' 'bout the time that'll pass
without him
with one less person in the frame

I know in town there's a home gallery
of pictures of young Suzie Marie
23 she'll always be
'cause of this boy in front of me

CHORUS
But I'm just a death row cook so I'll send him on his way.
Get him fed, give him a cigarette and say 'I hope you enjoyed the stay'

I cook the steak to be ate with a spoon
this boy ain't gettin' my knife anytime soon
he's a sculptor
and i'm not trying to be his muse

To my surprise he offers up a smile
says he might not be stoppin' by for a while
he's got business
out of town and a speech to write

BRIDGE
But Suzie Marie never got a last meal
she just got a hard taste of this cold boys steel
so i'm tempted to say 'boy enjoy dessert,
It's a needle in the arm with a poisonous squirt'

CHORUS
But I'm just a death row cook so i'll send him on his way
I'll get him fed give him a cigarette and say 'I hope you enjoyed the stay'

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."

(@john-sargent)
Noble Member

Now, this is an original idea. I'm looking forward to hearing this.

ReplyQuote
(@jamestoffee)
Famed Member

Hi Ben,

Welcome back :D I agree with MrEWorm kudos on the unique angle :wink: