y7 w3 - first attempt

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
 edub
(@edub)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

This would be my first attempt at putting any words or ideas into some sort of form. If any one has any ideas fire away, i am a complete novice and just ran with this this morning. Have not tried any music or chords, just kind of thought of a Charlie/Bruce Robison storytelling type song.

Saturday night I was tending bar,
you came in again to heal a new scar
Later on all your friends were in, t
hey always know when you'll need em again
I've heard all your pain and never said a word,
after all I'd probably sound absurd.
But if I had spoken up and tried to help instead,
I know what I would've said.

For 3 years you came in when he was out on the rigs,
drowning in whiskey and chain smoking cigs
I'd offer you a light and pour you a drink
and then step back start to think
Think how could anyone hurt a girl like you,
one I'd kill for if you only knew
He came in with you a couple of times,
I swear I almost spoke my mind

You didn't remember but late that night
you told me the story about the last fight
You even rolled up a sleeve so I could see,
and I promised you I'd set you free
Your friends weren't there this time
i made sure he'd left and gave you a ride
I got you home and the whiskey put you to sleep
right before I started to speak

When you picked up your car the next day
I knew what I was supposed to say
you had forgotten that I was there to help
when you were here all by yourself
You said thanks for the drinks the night before
smiled and walked out the door.
When you left you paused almost like you remembered,
but once again I couldn't say a word

He came in the next day with a couple of friends,
boasting and I knew he'd done it again
I knew you were somewhere hurt
I began to reel and everything was blurred
Maybe if I'd said something way back when,
I wouldn't have to kill him in the end
But he ordered another whiskey and coke,
and this was the time I finally spoke.