Notifications
Clear all

Please help me!!!

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@black-rose)
Topic starter  

Hello everybody on this forum who has decided to read my message and hopefully help me :P . Im a 16 year old college student from Manchester, England and ive got a problem. On this college course that im doing one of the classes is music and i like it so much that ive decided to do a BTEC National Dipolma in Music Practice, this is a 2 year course. Ive always wanted to be a musician in my own band as the lead singer/guitarist/songwriter and ive been singing from the age of 3 so i have a very good voice and music is my life. I got a Fender Squier Stratocaster for christmas so im going to get guitar lessons for that and im also going to take some more singing lessons. But the only problem is songwriting. Ive never wrote a song in my life because ive always thought that it was too difficult. Im an absolute beginner at songwriting and probably a late starter for all of this but its my dream. So I need as much help, advice and tips as you lovely people can give to me so i can go on my way to start writing songs. Ive got lots of inspiration for my songs because ive been abused and neglected all of my life and now im in foster care so i want to get my feelings out in a song but i don't know where to start. Please help me!!!

Lots of love Black Rose xXx :twisted:

(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

There are lots of places, but if you'd like a list of observations made over the course of a year here in the SSG, click on the link in my sig and go to song writing for beginners.

It is only about lyrics, but that's as good a place as any.

Be aware, it isn't a step by step how to, but it should help you start.

ReplyQuote
 Celt
(@celt)
Famed Member

Black Rose,

I went and read Nick's article. Lots of good advice in there. I'm pretty good at #37. It says something about rules are meant to be broken.