Clear all

SSG 42

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@off-he-goes)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

This is my first attempt at Sunday Songwriter's Group in a long time. I picked this week to start again because the assignment is close to my heart.

This song is about a girl I once knew. We dated for a while, but we were really close for a few years. She moved to the city and got in a tough spot. She drank too much, got into drugs, quit school, got back in, and dropped out again. I visited her once after she moved, and we had a great time with some guitars, a bottle of rum, and some stories. She also came back once and stopped me on my way to lunch and came with me. We had a great time then to. But then her downward spiral started to happen. I've pretty much lost contact with her now, and I regret it. I'm moving into the city in two weeks, but I know that it won't change anything, we're different now. This is a sort of closure, as it's almost two years since she moved.

It's not close to finished yet, I want to fix the last bit of the first verse, add another verse, about her decision to leave, and make some kind of bridge.

Verse Chord Progression: G Em7 Cadd9

A couple of kids, dreamed bigger then this town
We broke all the rules, and turn it upside down
The songs we sung and laughs we shared
The moment in time was all we cared.

Theres a hundred miles between us & I know that it's not far
but I often sit and wonder of just where you are
I can't bring myself to call you I can't bring myself to write
I miss you in the day & dream of you at night

Photographs are peeling, and your blue eyes turn to grey.
I'm left with all the letters, the words you used to say.
Memories that linger, are worth there weight in gold
Little pieces if of you, pieces I can't hold.

Paul

Vacate is the word...Vengance has no place on me or her...Cannot find a comfort in this world.

(@misanthrope)
Noble Member