Clear all

Week 31 - Last Minute Code Share

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

OK I'll give this a whirl. I dabble with composing instrumental music, this is my first attempt at songwriting (and vocals).

I started out with the telescope theme but wandered off topic right away. I put the vocal track low in the mix hoping to give it a "dreamy" quality, but instead it just turned out obnoxious. Probably better not to mess with that.

It's pretty rough but there are some possibilities, I might retake the tracks & remix. Or not.

http://music.squeaky-wheel.com/LastMinuteCodeShare.mp3

Last Minute Code Share
----------------------

Y'see, I have this vision.
It's an intergalactic mission.
It covers lots of time and space.
I'd better go pack my suitcase.

The trip takes quite awhile and
light years don't count towards air miles.
They said all the flights are booked
so I'll just sit out back and look.

Thoughts can travel for free
and don't have to obey relativity.
It worked for John Carter anyway...

(@dougjoy)
Trusted Member

Hi Aliens,

OK, good start there. I really like the Burroughs reference. And songs about space travel are ALWAYS awesome in my book.

The way you've spoken it over (or under) your instrumental is an interesting choice. Did you do that because you don't sing? Or simply because that's how you wanted it?

When I wander off the topic, I go with it, but then I look to see how I can tie it back in later. Sometimes that makes for a more cohesive piece of work.

If you are looking to fill out the song, perhaps expanding on the narrator's "vision." Why is he going? Where is he going? I don't feel a connection with him at this point. He's a guy with a vision, but is being very vague.