Clear all

Week 35--"Couldn't Be Me" (First Post)

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@sfdean)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I'm just getting back to songwriting after a long hiatus, but I (1) co-write with at least one perfectionist (2) have appallingly high aspirations, and (3) have a thick skin, so feel free to dial up the criticism accordingly.

I really enjoyed this assignment (and this entire project and forum, which I just discovered yesterday and devoured today.) I probably still need to tweak the meter of my three verses to get them to match a little more closely. (It'd be nice if they sat on the same melody.) The idea was an AABA song format, with the equivalent of the hook at the end of each A section. (That's how I learned it. Others would say it's a one-line chorus.) It turned out to be more of a personal song than a protest song, and also ended up with a Christian slant, which was interesting, since I've never written a lyric like that before. The idea was, with the final line "it couldn't be JUST me" to suggest some change/understanding/personal growth in the singer during the course of the song.

A big hello to everyone, and thanks in advance for any comments and critiques.

SfDean

Couldn't Be Me

A woman on the street
Has a cardboard sign
“Two kids and no job—
It's for food, not for wine”
But I got my family to feed
Besides, that couldn't be me
No, that couldn't be me

Though I'm just a car
In a crosswalk away
From hospital bills
And no weekly pay
I pretend that I don't see--
Because that couldn't be me
No, that couldn't be me

A long time ago
A young carpenter said
At the end when we're measured,
Our hearts and our heads,
It's how we treat
Those who have the least…
I don't know who
He was talked to
It couldn't be me
Could it?
That was a long time ago
But the poor are still with us today

Now they say we're too stretched
For the old safety nets
But the colder it gets
I wonder who's left
To lend the hand they need
It couldn't be me
Could it?